Course summary

Cambridge International examinations (CIE) has over the years gained a reputation worldwide in preparing and developing in students, an informed curiosity and a lasting passion for learning, as part of Cambridge Assessment, a department of the University of Cambridge, UK.

The international qualifications are recognized by the world’s reputed Universities and employers thus providing the students with a wide range of education opportunities as well

as scope for a secure career. Every year, many thousands of Cambridge learners all over the world achieve the grades that enable them to progress on to their chosen area of specialization in the chosen University. The rigorous and detailed Cambridge programmes ensure that the learners are confident, responsible, reflective, innovative and engaged – equipped for success in this ever-changing and fast-paced modern world in which they have to compete and endure. Cambridge Advanced or
A Levels, as more frequently referred to, is typically for learners aged 16 to 19 years who need advanced study to prepare for University and higher education. It is equivalent to the higher secondary degree provided by the local National Board here in Nepal. The curriculum includes the Cambridge International AS & A Level qualifications for the two years of education following a School leaving certificate. Learners entering into this qualification have the freedom to offer AS Levels as qualification in their own right, or as part of the progression to A Levels.


The curricula are designed to be flexible, is regularly updated and extended to meet the requirements of the changing education scenario worldwide and ensures that learners have the option to specialize or study a range of subjects. There is a combination of 55 subjects from which learners can choose.

The curricula is tailor-made to inculcate in learners knowledge, understanding and skills in:

  • in-depth subject content
  • independent thinking
  • applying knowledge and understanding to new as well as familiar situations
  • handling and evaluating different types of information sources
  • thinking logically and presenting ordered and coherent arguments
  • making judgements, recommendations and decisions
  • presenting reasoned explanations, understanding implications and communicating them clearly and logically
  • working and communicating in English

Though the syllabi are international in outlook, they retain local relevance with content to suit a wide variety of schools with international student body and thus has captured the imagination of learners world-wide.



Cambridge International AS & A levels have a linear structure with examinations at the end of the course. The learners can choose from any of the assessment options below:

  • Option One
    Take the AS Level only. The Cambridge International AS Level syllabus content is considered half a Cambridge International A Level.
  • Option Two
    Take a ‘staged’ assessment route- i.e. AS Level in one examination series and complete the final Cambridge International A Level in a subsequent examination series.
  • Option Three
    Take all papers of the Cambridge International A Level courses in one examination series, usually at the end of the two year course.

Awarding Grades

Each subject that a learner undertakes at the AS & A Levels receives a separate grade which is reported on a grade scale from A* grade for the highest level of achievement, to E, indicating the minimum required performance.

Qualification-University recognition and research

Students gaining the Cambridge International AS & A Levels can apply to Universities world-wide including the UK, Ireland, USA, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, India, Singapore, South Africa, Germany, Spain.
Over 500 US Universities accept Cambridge International AS & A Levels, including all Ivy League and Ivy Plus Universities including Brown, Harvard, MIT, Stanford and Yale.